Boy in the Striped Pajamas


historicalfictionbookreviews4.wikispaces.com

I had the opportunity to watch an incredible movie last night.  The name of it was “The Boy in the Striped Pajamas”.  I got the crazy idea to watch this movie due to one of our lists on List25.com entitled “25 Movies That Will Make You Cry”.  Needless to say, it was indeed a sad movie (don’t worry I won’t spoil it for you if you have not watched it).  I mention this movie because of the impact it had on me.  Seeing the horrors of the holocaust through the eyes of an eight year old was a painful realization of what the human nature is capable of doing.  After watching the movie, I had to take a few moments to compose myself, and then I started to see my current world…the sad realization swept over me…were not that far from doing it all over again. 

You may disagree with my previous statement, and may even consider me a negative Nancy (or worse, a Debby downer), but the fact is that when the Holocaust happened through the hands of sane, highly intellectual, sincere, people.  They were not a third world country, or somehow impoverished.  They were a nation where the majority believed that a particular human race, denomination, sexual orientation, and culture was somehow inferior and not worthy of existence.  This sentiment is still present today except its disguise is intolerance.  It doesn’t matter what kind of intolerance.  It could be intolerance towards sexual orientation, race, religion, political beliefs…it doesn’t matter.  Intolerance is still intolerance. 

I have cruised through many blogs and sites and have seen with my very eyes the comments from people who desire the utter destruction of another group of people.  It’s sad for me to think that a highly evolved, intellectual, wealthy nation like ours still nurtures the notion of intolerance.  I know some believe that our nation doesn’t, but the truth is it does.  To be clear, when I say nation, I refer to the people, not the government.  In reality the government is just a reflection of the people. 

I honestly fear our future as I walk through this life and I experience blind hatred from all groups towards each other; the gay community’s hateful stand towards religion and religion’s hateful stand towards homosexuals; Blacks intolerant stand towards whites and white’s discriminatory stand against Blacks; liberals unreasonable intolerance of conservatives and vice versa.  When will we step back and learn from history?  When will we finally grow up and let go of things that does not matter and realize that the world is a place because of people… that is, other people, not you.  So what if someone believes differently than I.  That’s not reason to hate them, is it?  So what if you are an atheist and I am a Christian; must you hate me so?  Or must I hate you so?  So what if I’m colored, isn’t it just a skin color?  Are you so blind to not see the fact that is just pigment and that I am still another person, another human? 

The Jews were people like you and I who endured the hatred of a majority and were treated like dirt.  Many paid for this hatred with their lives and yet there were those who felt no remorse whatsoever.  They just could not see that they were burning, killing, hitting, raping, absolutely demoralizing another human being.  I really do hope that we have learned our lesson, though signs from this present age tell me we haven’t.  I pray for all our sakes I’m wrong.

Leave a Reply

