Praise where praise is due anxiety?


Does anyone else feels weird when praised? For example, lets say I produce a good paper and the professor says something along tr lines of “this is a great paper”. Does anyone else feels weird or uncomfortable? See, I’m always weirded out, because I feel, if I do something right, I only do it right because The Lord works in me and as such I should not warrant praise but rather turn the praise to Him. But then another thought consumes me…could this be false humility? I honestly don’t know. In scripture, I read that man is tested by the praise he receives. To be honest, I don’t want to fail that test. But then, there is another scripture that talks about to give praise where praise is due. So, is praise due for those who do the work? If I take cool photographic moments and people find enjoyment in them, could I really be praised for that? Is not The Lord that gives me the ability and desire to do such feats?
What are you guys thoughts?

2 thoughts on “Praise where praise is due anxiety?

  1. Juan, what do you think of this?

    “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented and fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear our presence automatically liberates others.”
    —Marianne Williamson

    Additionally, I add my own perspective: Who’s doing the struggling here? The decision-making, the searching for and purchasing supplies? The running around? The time, the effort? It’s YOU, Juan….I get what you’re saying in that God gave you your talents & so forth, but what is that to him? A piece of cake. If I understand your perception of God correctly, God could make 50 Juan Castillos in the blink of an eye, and because he’s all-powerful it would cost him no time, no energy, just his whim. But you are here, and the effort you put forth is yours.

    Society tells us we are bad, wrong, or conceited if we think well of ourselves or our accomplishments. I find this to be an unhealthy view. It is healthy to recognize our strengths and to love ourselves as long as we don’t think that we are better than anyone else. If you can celebrate others as heartily as you celebrate yourself, and vice-versa, you’ve achieved a fine balance.

    Just my thoughts. Hope you don’t mind the rambling, but I figured I’d jump in since no one has yet.

    Celebrate you! There’s only one of you!

    ~Valerie

    • I cant tell you how much I appreciate your reply Valerie. And I agree. God truly has called all of His children to do awesome things. To be afraid to admit their value is not only unproductive, but its also calling God a liar (something Im realizing…slowly). For us not to strive to be/ accept the fact that we do good things is to undermine whatever it is the Lord is doing in us. Im starting to see that now. Thanks Val, because your post has made me really think (and, as an intellection…I looooove thinking lol). This has also made me see that I really dont need to be afraid of praise…I just need to realize where the source is…and thats ok.
      Again, thanks Valerie, you rocketh!

Leave a Reply

