Songs that are ministering to me right now: Barking at the moon by: Jenny Lewis


Cabo Home

You’re probably looking at the title and are thinking to yourself, “huh?!?” But when you take this song and put it in the context of a song to God, you can start to see why it’s ministering to me. (I do that a lot btw, try to take songs that are not necessarily about God and kind of making them so…but I digress)

The truth is this song reminds me a lot about my time in rebellion and how I felt after coming back to God.  There truly is no home like the one I got because it really is the only home that belongs to me.  I mean everything about this song is dead on (for the exception of the dog and cat references lol).  Do I bark at the moon when I think about God? Woot woot!

Lyrics:

I have got so much to give, I swear I do.

I may not have nine lives, this one feels brand new.

Yes I’ve lived a good one.

I have tried to be true.

There are some things I never realized, till I met you.

How the wind feels on my cheeks, when I’m barking at the moon.

[chorus]

There is no home like the one you’ve got, cuz that home belongs to you.

Woo Woo! Here I come.

Woo Woo! Back to you.

There is no home like the one you’ve got, cuz that home belongs to you.

Well I was in trouble, bad.

I was so confused.

I may not see in color babe, but I sure can feel blue.

I have been a lot of things, they may not all be true.

My experience was so mysterious, till I met you.

Now the sun may rise in the east, but I’m barking at the moon.

[Chorus]

There is no home like the one you’ve got, cuz that home belongs to you.

Woo Woo! Here I come.

Woo Woo! Back to you.

There is no home like the one you’ve got, cuz that home belongs to you.

There is no home like the one you’ve got, cuz that home belongs to you.

There is no home like the one you’ve got, cuz that home belongs to you…

Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LIjI1-H2Q80

Leave a Reply

