Money saving tip of the day: Ride mass transit as much as you can


English: RTS Bus at the University of Florida

RTS Bus at the University of Florida (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m a college student at the University of Florida (Go Gators!) but as my destiny would have it; my finances have made it hard for me to own a vehicle.  Therefore, I rely exclusively on Gainesville‘s Regional Transit System (RTS) for my transportation needs.  What this means is that I don’t pay for car insurance, gas, car repairs, traffic violation (not like I have had any of those mind you….moving on), car payments, parking, etc.  What this also means is that I increase my capita by redeeming the time of my commute by writing, blogging (in fact this blog is currently being written while riding bus #8 as I head to work…I phone is a wonderful invention), texting (oh the joy of not having to worry about traffic and safety), replying to e-mails, etc.  oh! and let’s not forget the added advantage of not having to worry as much about my safety (or dealing with crazy Floridian drivers) while riding this huge massive steel box.  In other words, transit saves you money by A. Reducing (or in my case eliminating) automobile costs, eliminating added

ticket

but officer I swear I was not speeding!

costs of law enforcement altercations (just think what you could have done with those $250 dollars that instead you now have to toss to our government because someone had a bit of a lead foot…tsk tsk), and B. Increasing my time value by redeeming commute time (something that is impossible In a car).  Moral of the story? Go ahead and give transit a try.  You may be surprised with the experience (and probably even more surprised with the savings).

2 thoughts on “Money saving tip of the day: Ride mass transit as much as you can

    • Indeed :). At first, I wasnt too keen on using mass transit. But after being forced to do it, I now find myself rarely missing a car to the point that people have to strongly urge me to get one. The fact is I need one but I know that when I get a car, I’ll probably rarely use it. Mass transit is just way too much fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

