To my Atheist friends


Christ before Pontius Pilate, Mihály Munkácsy,...

Christ before Pontius Pilate, Mihály Munkácsy, 1881 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

(This is a note/blog I wrote a while ago, but I wanted to re-post it due to some recent conversations I have had.)

So I had a conversation with an atheist friend of mine a while ago. I feel like I need to respond to a few things brought up in that conversation. I won’t say he’s name but I love him dearly. He has helped me in many ways. So this is by no means a letter to knock on him, or anyone else for that matter. But I feel like I need to say a few things.
We talked about the subject of Jesus. Who is He? He believes that Jesus was a good man and someone who was wise about many things. However, He was not God. Or so my friend believes.
I use this instance to tell you guys something. Lets look at Jesus logicaly. or rather, his disciples. Jesus claimed to be God. Thats why the jews hated him so much. so, ofcourse, his disciples knew of his claim. When crucified, Jesus’ disciples ran away from Him in fear of the Roman persecution and of the Jews. After three days, Jesus rose again. A fact that Atheist dont believe. However, after this event, many of his disciples preached boldly in the streets and anywhere they went, about Jesus being the only way, the truth and the life. For this, many of his disciples suffered horrible deaths. Some where sown in half (Peter) some where beheaded (Paul) some where fed to beasts, used as light torches and burned, etc. Never however, did they recant their belief. In fact, in the midst of their deaths, many died singing to God. My question to you is this: Would you die for something, knowing that its a lie? How many people do you believe would die for something that they knew was false? Jesus said he would rise again on the third day. If this truly did not happen, his disciples, who were already running, would not turn around with boldness and say he did only to be killed.
Listen to what im saying. If a perpetual liar where to ask you to follow him, would you?  You would’nt because he is a perpetual liar and you would not be able to trust him. So why would it be any different for people back then to die for a man who was a liar? Thats

English: Resurrection of Christ

English: Resurrection of Christ (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

because He is not a liar, He rose again on the third day and showed himself to his disciples. Moreover, he showed himself to 500 people all at one time.
Still dont believe me? Want physical proof? His body. We are an advanced society, filled with technology beyond any society that has ever lived. We have found the bodies of dead kings whom lived hundreds of years before christ, without us knowing where they were laid to rest. However, we have not been able to find Jesus’ body. Inspite of the fact that we pretty much know where he was buried. Why do you think we have not been able to find his body? The disciples moved it? Again. why would they die for somehting that’s not real, why would they fake the reality of something and then knowing they faked it, die for it? But lets say that that is the case. We still have the roman guards who were placed in front of the tomb to guard from such possible actions, because the jews said that the disciples might just do something like that. So there where guards guarding the tomb. Guards who for all respects already did not like the followers of Christ. so why would they cover up for them? Would the guards risk compromising their duties knowing that their own jobs and possibly even their own lives where on the line?
Do your research I beg you. For there’s more at stake here than anything else in this life. If Christ is real, and He did rise again from the grave. (which He did) than all He said was real, and if all He said was real, than we are all accountable for it. Therefore, seek the truth and dont be pround. This is not a subject to laugh at. Pride wont get you anywhere. But search. lay asside your preconsived notions and search for answers. You dont believe in the bible you say? Well, the bible is not the only book that talks about Jesus.”Virtually all modern scholars agree that Jesus existed, and see the theories of his non-existence as effectively refuted” and “Although scholars differ on the reconstruction of the specific episodes of the life of Jesus, the two events whose historicity is subject to “almost universal assent” are that he was baptized by John the Baptist and was crucified by the order of the Roman Prefect Pontius Pilate.” _Wikipedia. In fact, there is more documentation about Jesus Christ, than any other historic figuere. by far. Josephus wrote about him and so did Tacitus (and btw, these are non Christian sources).  Then there’s the Babylonian Talmud, the letter of  Mara bar-Serapion, and others.  These are all extra biblical non Christian writings and does not take into account Jewish documents that talk about Christ. There is so much evidence for Him, that is quite astonishing. But you have to do your research.
I have talked to people who just write him off without taking the time to search. They believe in so many other things exceot the one true God. My friend believes in nothing, or so he says. He believes that he makes his own life and that when he dies, he dies. thats it. However, I have other friends who are very spiritual. They invoke spiritual energies and magick philosophies all the while denying the one true God. And yet there are those friends of mine whom admit to the possibilty of a “being” of sort flowting out there somewhere, but they are so angry that they refuse to admit their need for God. The problem, is that research has not been done.
I dont say this to condemn you my friends. Nor to throw my bible at you….atually, I havent even mentioned a bible verse per se. No, I say this cuz I love you. I do. most of who I speak are my friends. And they are precious to me. But as a friend, i am not going to let you die of cancer if I can avoid it. If i have the cure to a desease and I dont give it to you, what kind of friend am I? Sin is desease, and Christ is the cure. But like anything in life, you cant get better, unless you take it. better not, rather healed. Christ died for those who would believe on Him. He said, if you believe in me, with your heart you will be saved. He rose again from the grave, to demonstrate that He was not just talking trash, but that He meant what He said, for if He rose again from the grave, than He can also raise us up from the grave as well.
Do your research my friends. Ask questions. Search. But be sincere about it. You will find that truth is in Christ. And “you shall know the truth and the truth shall set you free” (oh look, a bible verse lol) Its awesome being free. Trust me 🙂

I love you all so much

Sincerely

Juan Castillo Jr.

Image representing Wikipedia as depicted in Cr...

PS.  Here is the link to the Wikipedia site.  Wikipedia is not entirely scholarly, however, as any researcher knows, you can use the references they use to check the validity of such.  In other words, use Wikipedia as a spring board to begin doing research.  By no means take my word for it.  GO and do the research yourselves.  HUGE HUG!

Link:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Historicity_of_Jesus

3 thoughts on “To my Atheist friends

  1. Pingback: Was Jesus real? « New Equus – A New Creation

  2. Hi there Juan…tis my first time to read your post. Well done, my friend! I’ll be back to read more.
    I am a believer in the One called Christ! I believe He lived a sinless life, ministered on this tired planet, took our sin upon Himself and bore it on that old, rugged cross, was laid in the tomb of a rich man, lay dead for 3 days….and gloriously rose again!!! I believe he was seen by His disciples and by more than 500 real people. I believe He ascended to the Father, and now sits at his right hand, making intercession for us. I believe He’s coming again…SOON…and VERY soon!

    I guess what really frustrates me more than anything, is having friends who ‘say’ they believe, ‘say’ they’ve received Him, yet go on living their lives, selfishly and self-centredly, (is that a word)? They refuse to follow the simplest of directives…like baptism, communion, fellowship…

    At least when a friend tells you they just do not believe…well…at least you know what you’re dealing with. And there seems to be more hope for someone like that than for the one who thinks Christ won’t mind if you ‘fudge’ on this or that Biblical truth. Won’t mind if you carry on with YOUR life any old whichway you choose. They cheapen grace. Show no fruit. And you’re always left wondering if they’re real, or not? Especially when you make efforts to understand them and they become very defensive…and then dismiss you for prodding into their ‘personal’ beliefs. Wish someone could explain THAT one to me.

    • I hear ya Jillie. We live in a “have it your way” society lol. So people normally don’t like to be told “hey, this is wrong”. My background is in Architecture, so im used to some pretty harsh critiques. I mean, professors would look at your work and tell you whether it was good or bad..with brutal honesty. The Irony however was that I learned so much from such brutally honest criticism. I could have sulked and gotten mad (which actually a few times I did lol) but when I stopped to think about what they said, I changed. The body of Christ (the church) is like that, we are supposed to “sharpen” each other. Its sad that we take offence at things petty things and fail to change. Its even sadder that we fail to forsake all and truly follow hard after Christ. So i hear ya Jillie, bugs me too 🙂

Leave a Reply

