So what if I can’t stand Christmas?


christmas 2007

Its always amusing to me to see people’s reaction when I tell them that I cant stand Christmas.  “But wait” they say “aren’t you like a Christian? Aren’t you SUPPOSED to celebrate Jesus…and stuff”.   But then again, what does celebrating the most amazing person in the world have to do with this thing America calls Christmas?  Don’t get me wrong, I have tried to like the holiday and be like almost everyone else.  I put up a tree, try to sing along the merry tunes of the season (which I actually enjoy…I mean I still sing them even when its not Christmas), walk out on the not so snowy environment that is Florida and try to be nice to people.  But its not before long where I see the hollowness and shear fakeness of the thing American‘s call Christmas.   Soon, people will be charging up a storm on their credit cards to buy gifts they cant afford to give to people whom don’t need these gifts just to assure them that they are loved.  As if you could not show someone you love them through other means.  And God forbid you don’t give a gift to someone.  They will be emotionally traumatized!  Seriously?

Again, don’t get me wrong.  I LOVE gifts.  Absolutely, positively, LOVE gifts.   But, when a nation stresses out over the fact that they HAVE to give a person a gift on this particular day is absurd to me.  Why the stress?  And of course, capitalistic America banks on this fear and anxiety and creates all sorts of adds to tell you that if you don’t give so and so such and such you really don’t care.  When truth be told, it is corporate America who does not care…well at least not about you.

“But you can make the holiday real for you” they say.  Real for me?  I always wonder what they mean by that.   Let me see if I can figure it out.  So, just about almost everyone is out buying gifts and charging up.  Few think about the fact that the celebration is about Jesus (even though the practices originates from pagan practices).  Most are content to sing about Santa Claus and his rain-deers, or the elves or you name it.  The stigma of Jesus is so strong that schools are not allowed to put decorations that remotely hint at His majesty.  There are specific advice about dealing with Christmas stress (what other holiday has that?!), and yet somehow, I’m supposed ignore all that and make Christmas real to me…..I still don’t get it.

For me, its not that Christmas is not real (there’s a shocker).  Christ did come, He was born of a virgin, He lived amongst us, was humiliated, butchered, hung in disgrace, buried, but He

Corcovado jesus

Corcovado jesus (Photo credit: @Doug88888)

rose again, and is alive and coming!.  This is Christmas.  But this celebration needs not happen just one day, its something I celebrate everyday!  The act of giving is something that I strive to practice not just one day of the year but anytime that it is needed and hopefully to those who wont ever be able to pay me back.

Have you ever been in a sauna?  If you go in there one thing will be obvious really quickly…its hot.  You can try to make it cooler around your little area but all around you the temperature will remain hot.  No matter how hard you try to keep somewhat cool, you’ll fail.  The environment has a direct affect on you.  For me, Christmas is the same.  I try to make it “real”.  But the environment is one of greed, hollowness, sadness, despair, false religion, atheistic attack upon my Majesty, etc… but the truth, is that this is not just a one day thing.  This is an everyday thing, its just like any other day.  SO what! Do I sub come?  God forbid.  Greater is He that is in me than He that is in the world.  No, I rise to meet the challenge, and I celebrate the fact that one day, this battle will be over and I will be staring at the most beautiful face of all eternity, longing for an embrace from his majesty.  And on Him my tears will fall for I have longed to see Him for so long.  And He will wipe away my tears.  And He will embrace me and call me beloved son.  OH how I long for that day!  But until then, I will try to see the light in all the deceit.

You think I’m pessimistic don’t you.  I may be.  (I have been called the Grinch before :)). But I still love you 🙂

Juan Castillo Jr.

3 thoughts on “So what if I can’t stand Christmas?

  1. Dude, I totally agree. It’s one of the reasons I don’t like spending Christmas in the States. When I’m elsewhere during Christmas, people are more concerned with spending time with loved ones and celebrating Christ rather than materialism.

  2. I recently stopped celebrating Christmas and I’m Christian as well…people think I’m weird…but I’m free from spending my hard earned money on gifts in super long checkout lines, buying a tree (which I’ll throw away) all because I’m told to..NO SIR…..why cant you spread peace, love, and joy everyday…we need to start thinking for ourselves and stop letting the world control us

Leave a Reply

