Beauty from ashes….complete ashes


English: Large Bonfire

I was having a weird moment the other day in which I was thinking to myself, “where does God draw the line when he transform people”?  I mean, how messed up is too messed up for God to say, “You’re too messed up, sorry, next applicant” (I told you it was weird a moment).  However, I feel like the Lord really intervened in that moment of thought.

He first impressed upon me Isaiah 61:3.  The verse states “To all who mourn in Israel, he will give a crown of beauty for ashes, a joyous blessing instead of mourning, festive praise instead of despair. In their righteousness, they will be like great oaks that the LORD has planted for his own glory.” NLT

The emphasis I felt the Lord wanted me to focus on was  around the first part “…He will give a crown of beauty for ashes….”  As I thought about this verse and at the same time the Crystal Lewis song “beauty for ashes”.  I felt the Lord lead me into thinking about the ashes.  Ashes are the last degradation if you will that a fire produces.  When there are ashes, it means that the fire has completely consumed its host.  From ashes, there is no repair.  None.  And as I thought about this I REALLY do feel like the Lord said. “and even from this I create beauty”.  The meaning was very clear.  There is NO degradation that God cannot create beauty from.  There is no perversion that God cannot handle.  Even when we think it’s the last draw.  Even when we see that it can’t get any more perverse, God says, “I can create beauty from that”.  God’s love is not limited by our degradation.    The fire of this world can consume us until there is nothing left.  Until all turn away.  Until we are found in a place of despair and hopelessness with no conceivable way of making anything right.  And yet God says “I can make beauty out of that.”  God you are awesome.  You are amazing, and there is no word, no blog, nothing that can ever, ever fully describe You.  How awesome are your thoughts towards us oh God.  How marvelous are the plans you have created for us.  And how foolish of us to think that there is anything that you can’t handle.  May all that is, bow before You oh God.  Glory to the utmost highest be for You oh Lord.  Be forever exalted!

Listen, to you who doubt God’s love.  To you, who think that because of what you do, He does not love you.  To you who see Him as a taskmaster with a whip quick to lash out.  Let it be known, that is not the Lord.  His love for you, and for me, transcends our weakness, our faults, our misconceived idiocy.  He Loves You.  Now. Right now.  And  He wants you.  Now. Right now.

What manner of love is this, that a man should give his life for his friends, what manner of love is this, that God died for us while we were yet sinners.

You, He wants you, always has, and He always will.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

