Why struggle when you can eat McDonalds?


English: McDonalds' sign in Harlem.

English: McDonalds’ sign in Harlem. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

We all struggle with stuff.  By now, most of you are aware of my major struggle, but you guys also struggle with…well, whatever it is that you struggle with.  So this post I feel is meant for not just me, but for everyone who struggles with anything (that would be all of us lol).

As I laid upon my bed, thinking about why I believe and how easy it would be for me to go back, I felt the Lord intervene.  He reminded me of something.

A body builder diets and exercises faithfully and with great discipline.  He (or she) prepackages meals for the day, schedules his/her workouts (cardio, strength and also stretching).  Life as we know it, is not conducive for those who have six packs and bulging arms.  There is a McDonalds on every corner, Starbucks, chilies you name it.  But where is the “portioned, clean food” store, or the “protein shake that’s not filled with sugar” store.  There’s not that many if any at all.  So a body builder has to go against the norm…every day in order to live a healthy lifestyle that involves discipline, sacrifice, and pain.  Why would anyone in their right mind go through this?

That’s an easy answer.  The outcome far outweighs the temporary discomfort.  Everybody may be enjoying their

bodybuilder at Venice Beach

bodybuilder at Venice Beach (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

fast, easy, life filled with McDonalds and inactivity.  Heck, some of them are even making fun of the body builder for carrying around his or her food everywhere.  But at the end of the day, it’s the body builder that has the abs, bulging biceps, pecks and back.  Not the rest of the folks.  And even though, some dare to make fun of the bodybuilders, we all know that we all want to look like them to some degree.  Maybe not as big, or maybe bigger, but the fact is, we all want good abs, good arms, good back, good looks, and they have it.  Why, because they can see past the lie of the immediate pleasure, overcome and fix their eyes on the long-term truth.  

It’s the same with our struggle.  It would be easy for me to indulge in my “McDonald” and it would actually be quite pleasurable.  But at the end, It will kill me, literally.  On the other hand, if I decide to live a life that is disciplined, filled with that which is healthy, and true, than I shall live.  Not only live but live to the fullest.  Having something which some people make fun of, but we all know, they all want it.

See, not everyone struggles with eating McDonalds.  Some struggle with Burger King, Panera, Olive Garden, Taco Hell I MEAN Taco Bell. But the truth is there is always an easy way that seems so pleasurable, comfortable, but in the end, it leads to cardiac arrest (I.e. death).

Choose the road less traveled. (cliché but true).  A bodybuilder’s body is attractive because not everyone has one. Not everyone has one because few are willing to go through what a bodybuilder goes through.  But it’s a no-brainer, the bodybuilder/athlete/person who works out is healthier that the one who does nothing and chooses the easy way.

McDonald's and Sol

I choose to battle the struggle because I know that one day I will reap my reward and yes, there is a reward. Salvation is just the beginning.  My rewards are eternal.  I will one day look back and say, it was worth it.  And even though at times I find that hard to believe, (because McDonalds can smell Oh so good…..to me anyways) one day I’ll look in the mirror, look at my awesome six packs and bulging biceps with great looking shoulders and back and say, pft McDonald who?

Choose to workout guys, choose to go against the norm.  For we don’t labor in vain those who labor.  Our rewards will be given to us.  For He is faithful and has promised such.  I’m looking forward to hear “well done my good and faithful servant, enter into thy rest”.

Juan Castillo Jr.

2 thoughts on “Why struggle when you can eat McDonalds?

  1. it’s a shame that so many of us take our eyes off the prize, and so many more don’t even know what the prize is. exercising our faith is a constant, grueling workout, and like any athlete, in time, hopefully it will make us stronger

Leave a Reply

